Kyoukai no Kanata Episode 1 Anime Review

Image

And if you do, I’ll eat your udon.

I should really start an anime food blog that screenshots all the delicious anime food. Well, aside from the delicious shots of steak and noodles and other things in this episode, I found myself loving the animated battle scenes as well. The blood flowed well and so did the body movements.

From what I can gather, Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human and is at odds with this girl in his school called Mirai. She wear thick red glasses and can control blood, forming it into a sword which she uses to go after Akihito. She’s a World Spirit Warrior and it’s her job to kill youmu, but she can’t bring herself to, so she uses Akihito as a dummy, since he can’t die.

The anime has a Slice of Life feel to it, though I’m not sure if I’ll classify it as such yet. I really like the mish-mash of fantasy with reality, and they’ve already set up the premise plus crammed a third party conflict in. Mitsuki is from, I think, a different branch of the clan, from Mirai and she tells Akihito to stay away from Mirai. But like any protagonist he’s gonna stick to her.

I like Akihito as a protagonist. He doesn’t seem too bothered about getting stabbed. I mean, he’s annoyed, but he’s not fuming angry about it, which makes him an alright guy. He even goes to help Mirai out with her problems which is more than I would do for someone who keeps stabbing me.

I really, really, really, like the youmu designs in this show. They’re subtly creepy and seem to have differing powers even though they have a sort of thematic togetherness to them. I’ll be watching this.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kyoukai no Kanata Episode 1 | Jovanify - October 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

