Free! Episode 5 Anime Review

Image

We’ll sell calenders of ourselves modelling swimsuits in compromising positions, just like how our teacher probably did.

I’m back! Sorry for the lack of posting the last week. I went overseas on vacation, and now I’m rip-roaring and ready to go! So, of course, the first episode I watched was Free! I’m glad that they included Haru mentioning the fit of different swimsuits, as I mentioned in an earlier post. It makes me wonder if the writers actually did some in-depth research despite the airy nature of the show.

I’m also glad at the turn the show took, with *spoiler*  Rei nearly drowning at episode’s end. It’s not at all like a summer beach scene in most Japanese anime. And it’s a pretty important thing for newbies to learn while swimming in the ocean. Everything can seem calm one second and a wind could pick up the next. I think they’re probably using the episode as a swimming warning as well to be cautious.

I knew shit was going down once they said, “Let’s go swim on a deserted island!” Though with a lodge nearby, it’s not that deserted, is it? I’m sure Haru was sad he had to share a tent with Nagisa instead of his beloved Makoto.

I’m kinda peeved that the show ended on a cliffhanger, though it really isn’t a cliffhanger, is it? I mean Rei can’t die. So, the question is, who saves him? Where we left off, Makoto was running towards the ocean in an attempt to save Rei. And here’s my prediction…

Rin will save Rei. It’ll be so dramatic since it’s the first time they meet. Maybe he went to check up on his sister or was out for a jog. He encounters the commotion and dives out to save his “replacement” on the team swim event. This would build-up to their rivalry at the competition later on. And Haru will save Makoto.

The only question that remains is, will there be CPR? And can the world handle it?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

