Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! Episode 2 Anime Review

Image

Tomoko commenting on the faceless characters of Watamote.

This was such a nostalgia bomb episode. All the stupid things I worried about in High School seem to be what she and probably everyone else worries about too. Having to group up for projects, going on stupid overnight outings, completing bull-shitty homework, trying to make it through to lunch time without starving to death. And even now I still worry about some of these things. Meeting up with old friends and comparing lives, having to give the impression that your current life is full of fun and laughter and that you’ve grown up so much.

When really, I just feel like the same insecure kid masquerading as someone older than themselves. When you move up, there’s more things to worry about,and the big things you contemplate don’t even enter the mind of others. We’re all living in our own bubble and it’s hard to find someone to share your problems with. Tomoko can’t even tell her old best friend the truth about things. It’s frustrating and yet inevitable at the same time. The anime made me cringe about the things I worried over so much in the past.

The animators have done a spectacular job, drawing out Tomoko’s fantasy romps, which wasn’t as detailed in the manga. It was more of a 1-2-punchline kind of joke there. I like the way they spliced her picture to the end and presented a coherent and uplifting story narrative. It was pretty funny to hear Gintoki voicing the anime-face-drawer-guy. He’s also voiced Takuma from Hiiro no Kakera, which is precisely the otome games Tomoko listens to.

Oh, Tomoko, I hope you never out the truth about that picture. Sometimes ignorance really is bliss.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui! Episode 2 Anime Review”

  1. torisunanohokori says :

    WataMote is so painfully accurate about high school. I really don’t think I’d be able to enjoy it if that wasn’t all far behind me now.

    • mushireviews says :

      Yup, I think I was lucky in that my class had an unusually large concentration of misfits, so I was able to make friends. Tomoko is so lonely in comparison.

Leave a Reply

